Semester Reflective Essay

AviBefore coming into AP English 3, I knew a respectable amount about effective writing. I could write a persuasive essay, and an informative essay pretty well. Though I found, through our class time, that I had a lot to work on. I also learned of a new form of writing which is an Op-Ed, or opinionated editorials, and I perfected my reflective essay writing. I feel that I am a better writer than I am a reader now, though I enjoy reading over writing.

My approach to writing after the first semester is more open. I do not dread writing as much as I did sophomore year. When I am assigned with a writing project, I greet it with open arms rather than a closed mind. The piece that I am most proud of is my Op-Ed at the beginning of the year. I am proud of my article because I was able to take problems that I look at as having to be fixed. Than after finding a topic that we are most passionate about were able to research and write our facts and opinions. I liked how we were able to write not about what the teachers give us, but our own opinions instead.

I have always enjoyed reading. Reading has always been one of my favorite pass times, ever since my freshman year. My attitude has stayed the same towards reading. My favorite book that I have read, I chose in class. My favorite piece I read this year, is Street Pharm. I liked the book because it showed the readers the mind of a young man who is trying to do the best for himself in the ghetto.

I feel like I did well in this class this semester. For the first six-weeks I got a 100 for the class grade. When I first saw this it filled me with excitement being that this is a college level difficulty class. I think what I would do to do better the  next semester is to get my work done faster. I struggled with getting things done in class semester, and I think that it would help me if I could finish projects/essays while I have a teacher to help me. I have little suggestions for this class. I would prefer to read more books in class. That would be the only suggestion that I think I would enjoy.

One thought on “Semester Reflective Essay

  1. Jordan, Your writing has been a pleasure to read and I am so glad it is shared with an audience that is much bigger than just me. You have great ideas and they deserve to be shared. I too miss books. We will read at least one fiction piece together next semester and revisit independent reading too. Becoming better readers makes us better writers and vice versa. I look forward to reading more of your work next semester!

    Like

Leave a Reply

